top of page


Hey there, I am Arya!

​I am originally from Kolkata, India. I'm Bengali at heart, a die hard fan of Rabindrasangeet and an avid reader. 

I moved to Europe in 2012. After a 2 years of study & work in France, I ended up in Germany in 2014 completely unplanned. Since then am a German resident and an almost citizen. I love learning languages and speak 6 languages to various fluency.

When I was in 8, my science teacher once asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. When I told her I wanted to be a Nuclear Scientist, I wasn't kidding. I eventually found my way and did a PhD in Nuclear Engineering, working on really cool science on hydrogen combustion. And then I got bored with academics so moved to work in the industry. Now I still read and follow the Nuclear sector as a hobbyist.

I am a massive extrovert and a really big people's person,. When I walk into a room full of people, I have an intense urge to know everyone. I love photography and telling stories through my pictures. Sometimes I need downtime, but that usually lasts a couple of hours until am again ready to be around people.

My work and study have taken me around the world - from Japan to San Francisco, I love the thrill of planning a travel; in Bengali, my mother tongue someone like me is known to be born with mustard seeds under their feet. I guess I was born with wheels rather than feet (something I got from my father). 

I wake up every morning with 3 thoughts in my head:

1. How many kilometers am I going to run today?

2. How many cool and new people can I meet today?

3. Where should I go next weekend?



Hey there, I’m Carly!

I’m from the USA, where I lived a full-blown midwestern life complete with casseroles, drawn out a’s and ranch dressing on everything. I’m a (mostly) pescatarian who also has celiac disease, so finding good food – both in Germany and when travelling – is always a challenge. I’m passionate about the environment, education, and creating change and connection through stories. In 2020, I uprooted my rather settled life to move to Germany to complete a Master’s program – but mostly to be with the man I now call my husband.

On a normal day, you can find me at home testing out a new gluten-free recipe, attempting to save various insects who have wandered into the house, or tending to my ever-expanding horde of plants. On my best days, I’m completely consumed in a creative project, making messy and weird art.

bottom of page